Officers / Committee

Helen McDermott – President

helenHelen McDermott was always destined for a show business career – but it could just as easily have been in music, theatre or even ballet. She had training as a ballet dancer and made her first professional appearance at the age of 12 with the Royal Festival Ballet, followed by summer seasons and pantomime.

Her first job in TV was as an announcer, first with Westward TV and then Television South West, the ITV contractors for south west England. In 1979 she joined Anglia, combining the role of continuity announcer with newsreading on the nightly news magazine show, About Anglia.

From early 1988 until late 2001 she was one of the regular presenters of Anglia News, and her friendly, easy-going style endeared her to thousands of viewers across East Anglia. Later came A Date with Helen, which took her the length and breadth of the region, as did Boot Sale Challenge.

Another TV series she presented was the auction-based That’s your lot. It was so successful that a second series was produced. Then Helen tried her hand at various occupations such as florist, croupier, army recruit, photographer, zoo-keeper, and so on for another TV series called Just the job.

Off-screen Helen spends much of her time working for her chosen charity, Macmillan Cancer Relief. She marked her 40th birthday by running in the London Marathon, and did the same again the following year. On each occasion she raised £6,500 for Macmillan.

Lately she has returned to her theatrical roots, so to speak, appearing in pantomime at Norwich Theatre Royal and Sheringham Little Theatre. In 2004 she joined actor Desmond Barrit and designer Ian Westbrook in the formation of Ohyesitiz Productions, and for the past two Christmases the company has produced pantomime at Gorleston Pavilion.

Officers and Committee of NNOS


President Helen McDermott
Chairman David Pulling
Vice Chairman Audrey Fiddes
Hon Treasurers Andrew and Sue Gurney
Linda Campbell, David Chapman, Ian Chisholm, Niamh Church, John Fiddes, Liz Ireland,
Laura Marvell, Margaret Read, Melanie Russell.
Hon Auditors Messrs Sexty & Co
Web Master David Pulling
Publicity and Advertising Melanie Russell
Wardrobe Margaret Read
Threshold Theatre Group Liaison Ian Chisholm
Health and Safety David Chapman
NNOS Fund Linda Campbell
Friend’s Secretary Liz Ireland
Membership Secretary Niamh Church
Minutes Secretary John Fiddes